/*replace exisiting header phone area with number between a tags*/
If you were involved in an accident while on the street, riding public transportation or driving on New York, Queens or Long Island roadways you may have a claim against a municipality entity. While you may have up to three years to pursue most negligence claims, in order to maintain a claim against a municipality, you need to file a Notice of Claim within 90 days of the accident date. Due to this Notice of Claim requirement, it is important to consult with a personal injury attorney who can determine whether you have a valid claim.
In our daily life, we walk the streets, ride the public transportation and drive on the various roadways throughout the City of New York, Long Island and its surrounding suburbs. We drop our children and grandchildren off at the public schools. We go to the parks and playgrounds for recreation. It is the responsibility of the municipal governments at the State, City, County, Town and Village levels to maintain its streets, roadways, playgrounds and buildings in a safe condition for its citizens and visitors.
In addition to municipal governments, our transportation system has several different entities operating in the New York metropolitan area. The MTA, New York City Transit Authority, Long Island Railroad and Metro-North Railroad all operate separate entities from the City of New York that are responsible for the safety of their passengers.
Brad Popick and Rick Rutman, of the Queens, NY Popick Law Firm, are experienced personal injury attorneys who have handled hundreds of Municipal Liability cases. Each of the above entities requires its own Notice of Claim, The Popick Law Firm can get all Notice of Claims filed in a timely manner and start an investigation of the claim(s). The investigation would include obtaining reports and documents and retaining an expert such as an engineer to do an inspection of the accident site.
The period in which to file a lawsuit is also shorter than the 3 years as a lawsuit needs to be filed within a year and 90 days and in some cases within 1 year.
Call (718) 321-7460 now to talk with a personal injury attorney about your claim.